YMCA/YWCA Women of Distinction Awards 2014

It was such an honour this month to attend a celebration of many of the wonderful, courageous or accomplished women in Guelph who contribute to the development of youth and the community!
It was an exciting night, so well organized by they YMCA/YWCA, and contributing to a fantastic program that I’d never heard about called TAPPS in support of young parents and their children.  I was thrilled to contribute to this wonderful cause and it turned out that I was the lucky recipient of the award in the category of Information Technology!  Although Steve and the kids were not able to be there that night, it was great to have my parents there with me! IMG_2099

I’m not one for liking being the centre of attention,  and I didn’t know what was to come when I agreed to let my nominators Kim Kowch and Andrew Cloutier put forward my name. They went ahead in the background and gathered letters of support from colleagues and friends and sent all this in to the nominating committee. I haven’t seen those letters, but I know that it was a lot of work and I’m grateful to both of them and the people that I’m aware contributed: Mary-Kay Goindi, Peter Skillen and Cathy Novosad. It was delightful to be recognized, and I want to thank Andrew and Kim, as well as my supporters who attended the gala evening, for their part in this!

This kind of event certainly reminded me of the importance of contributing to the community and the impact that each of us can have. The night was filled with stories of amazing women inspiring and helping others through the arts, education, research, business, science and volunteerism. I’ve always been more involved in school community and in the global community of educators but this program has piqued my interest about some of the other ways I might contribute to our amazing Guelph community!

 

One thought on “YMCA/YWCA Women of Distinction Awards 2014

  1. I’d like to add a wee comment here. First of all, Brenda, thanks for the mention. :-)

    I think it is worth noting some of the accomplishments that I personally recall about Brenda’s work. I included these for the committee’s consideration. It doesn’t describe the quality, the passion and the texture of her impact on kids and teachers and indeed the educational system in Ontario—but, it does indicate the effort and one can infer the intelligence, breadth and depth of her knowledge and contribution.

    Brenda is a visionary education leader throughout Ontario and beyond. She:

    – served on the Educational Computing Organization of Ontario’s (ECOO) Board of Directors (http://ecoo.org)

    – effectively chaired the ECOO conference for three years

    – co-developed and is co-principal of Minds On Media (http://mindsonmedia.ca)

    – serves on the OSAPAC committee (Ontario Software Acquisition Program Advisory Committee)

    – has been a Community Leader and coach for Powerful Learning Practice (http://plpnetwork.com)

    – is a curriculum writer for the Ontario Ministry of Education

    – designs courses and teaches both face-to-face and online for the Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF) (http://www.otffeo.on.ca/en/learning/otf-connects/)

    – is a consultant to the Ministry of Education/OTF TLLP projects (Teacher Leadership and Learning Program)

    – designs courses and teaches Additional Qualifications courses for teachers through Sir Wilfred Laurier University and Ontario College of Teachers

    – writes educational thoughts and leadership ideas for teacher on her blog (http://brendasherry.com)

    – supports colleagues through social media

    – has been awarded the Everyday Hero award from Upper Grand District School Board

    – has been awarded the Making IT Happen award from the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) (http://www.iste.org/membership/awards-recognition/making-it-happen-award)

    She will be embarrassed that I have posted this here. Suck it up buttercup. :-)

Leave a Reply

