Gallery

Organ Donation – Please Help!

NEW! Since the time of writing this post, organ donation registration is now available online.  Please go to http://beadonor.ca/ and get registered!

My friend and colleague,  Janet Parr, a Vice-Principal at UGDSB, came to our Program Services meeting today.  I wish I had recorded her message, as I cannot do justice to her amazing story and her mission to promote organ donation.  Janet was telling us about her wait for her new heart…and how we could help!   

Janet has congenital heart disease, as did her own Mom, but she is currently being kept healthy by the mechanical heart that she carries around with her.   She has a husband and a twelve year old daughter and it brought tears to my eyes to hear how she has turned her condition, that would be so depressing to some,  into a hopeful and active quest (and waiting time)…until her new heart arrives.

Today I learned that it’s not enough to be carrying the wallet card about organ donation that I’ve been carrying for years!

I  learned today that the wallet card I’ve been carrying often doesn’t end up in the hands of the doctors caring for me should I be in a life-threatening situation.  I need to let my family know of my wishes to donate my organs and/or tissues upon my death and I need to take one more important step:

I need to go to The Ontario Trillium Gift of Life Website and download the form and mail it in or drop it off at a Service Ontario Centre (online registration is not quite available yet).  This way, the information will go into a huge database and my wishes will be known to hospital personnel and my family should I become unable to share this information.  I’ve mailed mine in tonight.

Please…if Organ Donation is for you, take this extra step to help someone live a full and heathly life.  It’s the greatest gift you could give, and in Janet’s words “it’s a gift that will always be treasured!”

5 responses to “Organ Donation – Please Help!

  1. thank you for reminding us all of the importance of this.

    Like

  2. Thanks Brenda! I’ve always told the folks around me of my wishes, but had no idea about the form!

    Like

  3. Brenda, thanks for the information and the nudge, to fill out the form. I too, have the card in my wallet, but it’s not enough.

    Like

  4. Hi Brenda,
    I came across your blog and was interested in reading more because of my work in education. But when I saw your note about organ donation I had to click as I used to work at Trillium Gift of Life and am passionate about organ and tissue donation. You are right to point out that signing a card is not enough! Registering is key, and what’s also important and really helpful is talking to your family to ensure they know your wishes. A family member will need to sign the consent form for organ recovery and when they have heard you explain your wishes first-hand it goes a long way to providing them with the comfort of knowing they are doing exactly what it is you wanted.

    A big thank you to Janet Parr for raising awareness by sharing her story.

    Take care,
    Cailey

    Like

  5. Cyndie Jacobs

    This is great, Brenda! We had the One Life, Many Gifts (Trillium Gift of Life) folks at our May Subject/Division Association meeting at EDU. Amazing stories and even more incredible secondary curriculum has been written for all subject areas to increase awareness among Ontario’s youth.

    I have taken it on as a personal mission to share this simple task with as many people as possible. What better way than to tweet it every day? I’ve been posting the ‘One click can save 8 lives’ slogan with the http://beadonor.ca/ website every day since the site was launched in June!

    No doubt word will spread much faster through the Twitterverse!

    Like

Leave a Reply

